If it’s a cold winter… I’ll be ready

Here’s hoping for a cold(ish) winter.  Why?  So I can wear this pair of mittens I’ve just knitted using the chunky handspun marled merino I plied back in early July.

handspun mittens

Mittens knitted using handpun marled merino  – Peggy O’Grady’s ‘Arc’ pattern – see Ravelry for lots of other versions

The yarn was rather inconsistent so I’ve had to do a bit of darning here and there to close up some holes.  I also did a lot of knitting into the back of stitches to try and prevent holes appearing.

The “arc” is formed using lifted increases which was a new technique for me to master.  Thankfully, there are lots of extremely useful YouTube videos to consult.

I’ve still got 100g left so I might attempt a matching closed-tube cowl.  I’ll be very snug and warm walking the dog on a frosty day!

Bonnie

Bonnie

 

This entry was posted in knitting, mittens and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

